There are 2 central universities and 9 state universities in the Jammu and Kashmir state of India.


University Location Type Established Specialization
University of Kashmir Srinagar State 1949 General
University of Jammu Jammu State 1968 General
Sher-e-Kashmir University of Agricultural Sciences and Technology of Kashmir Srinagar State 1982 Agriculture
Sher-i-Kashmir Institute of Medical Sciences Srinagar State 1983 Medical Sciences
Sher-e-Kashmir University of Agricultural Sciences and Technology of Jammu Jammu State 1999 Agriculture
Shri Mata Vaishno Devi University Katra State 2004 Science, technology
Islamic University of Science and Technology Awantipora State 2005 Science, technology
Baba Ghulam Shah Badhshah University Rajauri State 2005 General
Central University of Jammu Jammu Central 2009 General
Central University of Kashmir Srinagar Central 2009 General
Cluster University of Jammu Jammu State 2016 General
Cluster University of Srinagar Srinagar State 2016 General


Institutes of National Importance

  • Indian Institute of Technology Jammu
  • Indian Institute of Management Jammu
  • National Institute of Technology, Srinagar
  • National Institute of Fashion Technology, Srinagar

Prominent Colleges

  • Aviation & Management Training Establishment (AMTE), Srinagar
  • Government College of Engineering and Technology, Jammu
  • Government Medical College, Srinagar
  • Institute of Engineering Technology and Research Jammu
  • Institution of Technicians and Engineers, Kashmir
  • Islamia College of Science and Commerce
  • Government Women College Anantnag
  • Rehmat-e-Alam College Of Education
  • Government Polytechnic College Anantnag
  • ITI Anantnag
  • Al Ahad College of Education
  • Model Institute of Education and Technology, Jammu
  • Sri Pratap College

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *